The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: A young girl in Harlem discovers slam poetry as a way to understand her mother’s religion and her own relationship to the world. Debut novel of renowned slam poet Elizabeth Acevedo. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves,Continue reading “The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo | Book Review”

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: Her story is a phenomenon. Her life is a disaster. In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and sheContinue reading “Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia | Book Review”

One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: Real love…as seen on TV Bea Schumacher is a devastatingly stylish plus-size fashion blogger who has amazing friends, a devoted family, legions of Insta followers–and a massively broken heart. Like the rest of America, Bea indulges in her weekly obsession: the hit reality show Main Squeeze. The fantasy dates! The kiss-offContinue reading “One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London | Book Review”

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: From Morgan Matson, the best-selling author of Since You’ve Been Gone, comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans. Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan. Future? A top-tier medical school. Dad? AvoidContinue reading “The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson | Book Review”

Love, Creekwood by Becky Albertalli | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: Fall in love all over again with the characters from the bestselling Simonverse novels in this highly anticipated epilogue novella. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, the movie Love, Simon, and the new Hulu series spin-off, Love, Victor! It’s been more than a year since Simon and Blue turned their anonymous onlineContinue reading “Love, Creekwood by Becky Albertalli | Book Review”

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: Camino Rios lives for the summers when her father visits her in the Dominican Republic. But this time, on the day when his plane is supposed to land, Camino arrives at the airport to see crowds of crying people… In New York City, Yahaira Rios is called to the principal’sContinue reading “Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo | Book Review”

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive. Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her. His name isContinue reading “The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | Book Review”

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it offContinue reading “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo | Book Review”

Moment of Truth by Kasie West | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: At sixteen, Hadley Moore knows exactly who she is—a swimmer who will earn a scholarship to college. Totally worth all the hard work, even if her aching shoulders don’t agree. So when a guy dressed as Hollywood’s latest action hero, Heath Hall, crashes her swim meet, she isn’t amused. Instead,Continue reading “Moment of Truth by Kasie West | Book Review”

The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon | Book Review

The following is from Goodreads: USA Today bestselling author Farrah Rochon launches a new series about three young women who become friends when the live Tweeting of a disastrous date leads them to discover they’ve all been duped by the same man. Samiah Brooks never thought she would be “that” girl. But a live tweetContinue reading “The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon | Book Review”