Love, Creekwood by Becky Albertalli | Book Review

Hello, book lovers! 💕

The following is from Goodreads:

Fall in love all over again with the characters from the bestselling Simonverse novels in this highly anticipated epilogue novella. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, the movie Love, Simon, and the new Hulu series spin-off, Love, Victor!

It’s been more than a year since Simon and Blue turned their anonymous online flirtation into an IRL relationship, and just a few months since Abby and Leah’s unforgettable night at senior prom.

Now the Creekwood High crew are first years at different colleges, navigating friendship and romance the way their story began—on email.

MY THOUGHTS:

I’m going to start this review a little differently. Normally, I talk about what I liked about a book first, but I’m going to talk about what I didn’t like first as a sort of disclaimer. Also, I might be a little biased because I loved Becky Albertalli’s previous books in the Simonverse (Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and Leah on the Off Beat).

So this was a novella that takes place after everything that happens in Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and Leah on the Off Beat. That being said, it’s only 100 pages long. And of course, being that I loved these characters so much when I read their initial stories, I wanted more time with them in this book. Because you can seriously never have enough time with these characters.

It was also written in solely in email, so there was no actual physical interaction among the characters (which I wanted, and it would have made the book longer). Because of that, it felt like nothing really happened, though again, it was only a novella.

But all that being said, it was SO FREAKING CUTE. Just being with the characters that I wholeheartedly love was so great. I loved being able to see where they were after the other books ended. And because it’s Becky Albertalli, it gave me all the same feels I got when I first read Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. It made my heart so happy.

I can understand why it was so short and written in emails since the characters were all away at college, and most of them were at different colleges. So getting physical interactions would have been hard to achieve. I’m just glad I got to read another book with these characters again.

Also, all the profits from the sales of the book were donated to the Trevor Project, an American LGBT nonprofit organization. That alone is an amazing thing that Becky Albertalli did, and it’s nice to know that buying the book went to such a great cause.

So there you have it. Those are my thoughts on Love, Creekwood by Becky Albertalli. Have you read this novella? Or any of the other books in the Simonverse? Or even seen any of the adaptations? (Which I haven’t – only the movie Love, Simon). I’d love to discuss them in the comments below!

Published by The Reading Addict

I am a twenty-something-year-old who is an avid reader. I love anything from young adult fantasy to adult fiction to young adult contemporary.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: